

Agenda

Notice of a public meeting of:

Overview & Scrutiny Committee

To: Councillors Lindsay Burr MBE, Jane Burton, Tony

Fisher, Richard Foster, Dave Merrett, Edward Pearson, Martin Rowley BEM, Steve Shaw-Wright, Andrew Waller, Arnold Warneken, Steve Watson

and Andrew Williams

Date: Tuesday, 17 September 2024

Time: 10.00am

Venue: Craven Room, City of York Council, West Offices,

Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

The meeting will be available to view once the meeting commences, via the following link - York & North Yorkshire Combined Authority – YouTube.

Business

1. Election of Chair

To elect a Chair of the Committee, to serve for the remainder of the 2024-25 municipal year.

The Chair must be an 'appropriate person' as defined by paragraph 3(4)(b) of Schedule 5A of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 - a person who is not a member of a registered political party of which the mayor is a member.

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 13 March 2024

To confirm the minutes as a correct record and to be signed by the Chair.

3. Election of Vice-Chair

To elect a Vice Chair of the Committee, to serve for the remainder of the 2024-25 municipal year.

The Combined Authority's Scrutiny Procedure Rules require that the Vice Chair should be an 'appropriate person' - a person who is not a member of a registered political party of which the mayor is a member.

4. Declarations of Interest

All Members are invited to declare at this point any interests they have in items appearing on this agenda, including the nature of those interests.

5. Public Participation

Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice and provided the text of questions to Elizabeth Jackson, Democratic Services, North Yorkshire Council (elizabeth.jackson@northyorks.gov.uk) no later than 12 noon on Friday 13 September 2024. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item. Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:

- at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes); or
- when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.

If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chair who will instruct anyone who may be taking a recording to cease while you speak.

6. Mayor's Update and Member Q&A

The Mayor to provide an update on engagements, activities and decisions during his term of office to date.

7. Adult Skills Fund

Report of the Adult Education Budget (AEB) Implementation Manager

8. Scrutiny Procedure Rules Review - Guidance and Protocol

Report of the Assurance and Governance Manager (Statutory Scrutiny Officer)

9. Work Programme

To consider matters for future scrutiny work.

10. Urgent Business

Any other items which the Chair agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.

Date of Next Meeting

Wednesday 11 December, 2024 at 2pm at Brierley Room, North Yorkshire Council, County Hall, Northallerton.

James Farrar Chief Executive Barry Khan Interim Monitoring Officer

9 September 2024

Enquiries relating to this agenda please contact:

Elizabeth Jackson, Principal Democratic Services Officer, North Yorkshire Council <u>elizabeth.jackson@northyorks.gov.uk</u>

Paul Clark, Governance and Assurance Manager paul.clark@yorknorthyorks-ca.gov.uk

email: democracy@yorknorthyorks-ca.gov.uk

web: www.yorknorthyorks-ca.gov.uk

Committee Membership

Name	Constituent Authority	Appointment Term	Political Group
Cllr Lindsay Burr	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	North Yorkshire Independent
Cllr Jane Burton	City of York	June 2024 to June 2025	Labour
Cllr Tony Fisher	City of York	July 2024 to June 2025	Liberal Democrat
Cllr Richard Foster	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	Conservative and Independents Group
Cllr Dave Merrett	City of York	June 2024 to June 2025	Labour
Cllr Edward Pearson	City of York	June 2024 to June 2025	Liberal Democrat
Cllr Martin Rowley	City of York	June 2024 to June 2025	Conservative
Cllr Steve Shaw-Wright	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	Labour
Cllr Andrew Waller	City of York	June 2024 to June 2025	Liberal Democrat
Cllr Arnold Warneken	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	Green Party
Cllr Steve Watson	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	Conservative and Independents Group
Cllr Andrew Williams	North Yorkshire	June 2024 to June 2025	Conservative and Independents Group